Therapy in Music

Musical musings for reflection

I Feel the Earth Move

on March 22, 2013

I Feel the Earth Move

by Carole King

Fun song trivia [credit: Wikipedia]:

  • King’s version of “I Feel the Earth Move” peaked at #1 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart dated June 19, 1971. It remained there for five consecutive weeks. It also peaked at #6 in the United Kingdom.
  • On Tuesday, March 18, 2008, King performed the song on The Colbert Report.
  • Loretta Swit performed the song on The Muppet Show in 1980.
  • The first 22 seconds of the Carole King version is used for the earthquake room exhibit at the Oregon Museum of Science & Industry (OMSI) in Portland, Oregon, USA.
  • On the popular NBC sitcom Will & Grace, the character Jack McFarland sings a piano solo version of this song as a part of his one-man cabaret.

I feel the earth move under my feet
I feel the sky tumbling down
I feel my heart start to trembling
Whenever you’re around
Oh baby When I see your face
Mellow as the month of May
Oh darling I can’t stand it
When you look at me that way
I feel the earth move under my feet
I feel the sky tumbling down
I feel my heart start to trembling
Whenever you’re around
Oh darling When you’re near me
And you tenderly call my name
I know that, My emotions
Are something I just can’t tame
I’ve just got to have you baby
I feel the earth move under my feet
I feel the sky tumbling down
I feel the earth move under my feet
I feel the sky tumbling down
I just lose control
Down to my very soul
I get hot and cold all over
I feel the earth move under my feet
I feel the sky tumbling down
tumbling down, tumbling down…
What inspires you?

